Skip to main content
Opus musicum I/1. In adventu Domini nostri Iesu Christi.

Author: Iacobus Gallus [Jacobus Gallus]
Year: 1985

From the very beginning, one of the most important and ambitious goals of the MAMS collection has been publication of the collected works of Iacobus Handl-Gallus in a modern transcription tailored to the needs of contemporary performers. The publication of his famous collection of motets, Opus musicum, consisting of four books containing a total of 374 motets, partially achieved this goal in 1990. The transcriptions and critical commentaries were prepared by Edo Škulj, and Gallus’s motets were published in thirteen volumes between 1985 and 1990. The edition is enriched by numerous facsimiles from Gallus’s original prints, published between 1586 and 1590 by the Prague printer Georg Nigrin (Jiří Černý).

The 2022 digitized post-edition is accompanied by a new preface and an introductory study by Dr Marc Desmet that summarizes and compiles all recent findings about the composer and his work.

Gallus divided the first book of his Opus musicum (1586) into three sections, which have been retained in the MAMS edition. The first volume (I/1) consists of 4-, 5-, 6- and 8-part motets for the beginning of the church year, i.e. Advent.

Table of content

Kolofon / Colophon

Novi predgovor / New Foreword (2022)
Novi uvod / New Introduction (2022)
Predgovor / Preface (1985)
Revizijsko poročilo / Revision Report
Faksimili / Fascimiles
Abecedno kazalo motetov / Motets in Alphabetical Order

I. Aspiciens a longe
II. Venite ascendamus ad montem Domini
III. Veni Domine, et noli tardare
IV. Vox clamantis in deserto
V. Laetamini cum Ierusalem
VI. Propter Syon non tacebo
VII. Iocundare filia Syon
VIII. Ierusalem gaude gaudio magno
IX. Prope est ut veniat tempus eius
X. Rorate coeli desuper
XI. Emitte Domine sapientiam
XII. Laetantur coeli et exultet terra
XIII. Utinam dirumperes coelos
XIV. Orietur stella ex Iacob
XV. Super montem excelsium ascende tu
XVI. Festina ne tardaveris, Domine
XVII. Veni redemptor gentium
XVIII. O sapientia quae ex ore altissimi
XIX. Ecce Dominus veniet et omnes sancti
XX. Canite tuba in Syon
XXI. Obsecro Domine mitte quem missurus es
XXII. Egredietur virga de radice Iesse
XXIII. Ierusalem cito veniet salus tua
XXIV. Ecce concipies et paries filium
XXV. Sapientia clamitat in plateis
XXVI. De coelo veniet dominator Dominus

PRILOGA / APPENDIX: Kompletna izdaja / The Complete Edition (1985)


16th century
sacred vocal music
Slovenian music


Add to favorites


Send by e-mail